I Met Hunger at the Takeaway

Hi Biscuit Breakers!

I am currently switching between 5 different jobs today as I am taking over First Story’s Instagram page alongside my wonderful best friend Sophie. But that didn’t stop me from still participating in this weeks #WriteFromHome workshop run by Andrew McMillan.

This week we were focusing on describing Abstract Nouns, so things such as Love, Anger, Hate, Disgust etc. Basically all the characters from Inside Out and doing exactly what they did: humanise an emotion.

I have previously done this challenge in two pieces when I did my 30 day writing challenge. They were on ‘Love’ and ‘Death’. Click on the links to check them out!

I decided to write about hunger. To see the full video, click below!

I Met Hunger at the Takeaway:

She was rooting through those big commercial bins at the back of the Curry House, searching for any meaty morsels from unsatisfied customers or just from the waste from the night before. Her curry-stained t-shirt clung to her sweating body, something told me that she’d eaten a vindaloo and didn’t realise.

“Should have gone for the butter chicken” I said, making my way to my car.

She turned and stared at me, midway through a stale chapatti. I thought she would be skinnier, her ravenous nature would assume that she would be barely the size of a stick but her large shirt stuck to her body as if it was second skin.

I noticed some holes at the bottom of the shirt. Moth bitten? Rats? No, too big. Did she eat her t-shirt? I didn’t stop to ask as I’d been staring at her for too long now. She was looking at my takeaway box as if it were made of gold. After devouring the chapatti, she stalked her way closer to me, but I was already in my car and starting the engine before she could get her greasy paws on my food.

Henna

Leave a comment

Create a website or blog at WordPress.com

Up ↑

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started