National Writing Day

On Wednesday 24th June, it was National Writing Day. I was supposed to post on that day, but unfortunately I was very busy. Who knew taking over someone’s instagram would take up the whole day? (Everyone, obviously…)

Throughout the 8 weeks leading up to National Writing Day, I have been participating in weekly #WriteFromHome video tutorials which can now be accessed on First Story’s instagram page (@fsbooks) or on YouTube. (You can also look at my work that I have produced in response to the workshops on my blog.

It’s crazy how fast the time flies during lockdown and looking back at all my work, I see how much I’ve grown in such a short space of time.

This last week was different. Alongside my wonderful friend, Sophie Crabtree, we campaigned with the #247challenge, the aim of writing a 24 word story in 7 minutes. We received hundreds of stories and were even #2 trending on twitter! Our Instagram stories were jam-packed with amazing efforts from across the ages and of all abilities.

It was truly a wonderful experience to be a part of, and I wanted to share with you 5 of my favourite #247challenges from people. I will also share with you one of my responses to the #247challenge.

Claire Boot:

One Day scowled at Some Day
"It's never my day"
"True," smiled Some Day. "But remember this - everyday its somebody's somewhere's 'One Day.'"

Sloe:

One day these walls will contain my home but not. 
Me.
I will be breathing in the bright outside feeling. 
Free.

Caleb Parkin (#WriteFromHome Week 2 writer)

One day, Barney lay
each bristly of whisker
a filament of sun
Beneath, ants were having a festival
on a leaf.
Birds were headlining.

@leo_of_the_nardo:

One day equals a thousand. That's the corrupt penance acquired under tonnes of burial dirt. Loneliness abounds; I wish I had asked for cremation.

Evangeline:

One day the moon didn't rise and the stars crashed to Earth, and the people realised that there were other things beside themselves that mattered.

My response:

One day the scars of her past slowly began to fade, blending into her smooth dark skin. People began to look, and not stare.

A belated Happy National Writing Day!

Till next time biscuit breakers!

– Henna

Leave a comment

Create a website or blog at WordPress.com

Up ↑

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started